The Lincoln Parish Police Jury met in regular session on Tuesday, March 12, 2019, at 7:00 p.m., at the Dubach Room, at the Lincoln Parish Library Events Center, Ruston, Louisiana. Present were: Theresa Wyatt, District One; Randy Roberson, District Four; David Hammons, District Five; Walter Pullen, District Six; Skip Russell, District Eight; Nancy Wilson, District Ten; Sharyon Mayfield, District Eleven and Annette Straughter, District Twelve.

Absent: Hazel Hunter, District Two; Jody Backus, District Seven; and Joe Henderson, District Nine.

Mr. Randy Roberson called the meeting to order and Annette Straughter delivered the invocation and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Skip Russell offered a motion, seconded by Walter Pullen, to amend the Agenda, to add item IV- Consideration and Recommendation of Board and Commission candidates. The motion was voted on by roll call vote:

MEMBER	YEA	NAY	ABSENT	ABSTAINED
Theresa Wyatt	XX			
Hazel Hunter			XX	
Bobby Bennett	XX			
Randy Roberson	XX			
David Hammons	XX			
Walter Pullen	XX			
Jody Backus			XX	
Skip Russell	XX			
Joe Henderson			XX	
Nancy Wilson	XX			
Sharyon Mayfield	XX			
Annette Straughter	XX			

The motion passed unanimously and the Agenda was duly amended.

Bobby Bennett offered a motion, seconded by Walter Pullen to approve the agenda as amended. The motion carried with the following votes:

YEAS: Wyatt, Bennett, Roberson, Hammons, Pullen, Russell, Wilson, Mayfield, Straughter

Mr. Roberson called for any public comments on the agenda as approved. There were none.

Theresa Wyatt offered a motion, seconded by Sharyon Mayfield, to approve the minutes of the February 12, 2019 regular meeting. The motion carried with the following votes:

Yeas: Wyatt, Bennett, Roberson, Hammons, Pullen, Russell, Wilson, Mayfield, Straughter

Sharyon Mayfield offered a motion, seconded by Bobby Bennett, to approve the minutes of the February 27, 2019 special meeting. The motion carried with the following votes:

YEAS: Wyatt, Bennett, Roberson, Hammons, Pullen, Russell, Wilson, Mayfield, Straughter

Annette Straughter offered a motion, seconded by David Hammons, to approve the minutes of the February 28, 2019 special meeting. The motion carried with the following votes:

YEAS: Wyatt, Bennett, Roberson, Hammons, Pullen, Russell, Wilson, Mayfield, Straughter

Walter Pullen offered a motion, seconded by Nancy Wilson, to approve the minutes of the March 1, 2019 special meeting. The motion carried with the following votes:

Yeas: Wyatt, Bennett, Roberson, Hammons, Pullen, Russell, Wilson, Mayfield, Straughter

Skip Russell offered a motion, seconded by David Hammons, to authorize a Resolution giving signatory authority to the President for documents related to FEMA Public Assistance Agreement.

RESOLUTION 2019-04

LINCOLN PARISH POLICE JURY

The following Resolution was offered by Skip Russell, seconded by David Hammons, who moved for its adoption at the normally scheduled meeting of the Lincoln Parish Police Jury this date, March 12, 2019.

- WHEREAS, in the aftermath of the 2016 Severe Storms and Flooding Events, the United States Congress, through Public Law 114-223 and 114-254 appropriated funds to the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development ("HUD") Community Development Block Grant ("CDBG") Program for use through the State of Louisiana for disaster recovery; and
- 2. WHEREAS, the Office of Community Development, on behalf of the State of Louisiana, administers the State's CDBG disaster recovery program (the "CDBG Disaster Recovery Program"), which is subject to the Federal statutes and regulations governing CDBG grants, as modified by exceptions and waivers previously granted and which may hereinafter be granted by HUD; and
- 3. WHEREAS, The Lincoln Parish Police Jury is a governmental entity or political subdivision eligible for reimbursement for repair of damages under the Stafford Act Public Assistance Grant Program (PA Program);
- 4. NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, in accordance with the Agreement implementing grant under the Community Development Block Grant Disaster Recovery Program through the Restore Louisiana Infrastructure: FEMA Public Assistance Nonfederal Share Match Program for Lincoln Parish (Grant #B-16-DL-22-001/Year 2016) that Randy Roberson, as Jury President, be and he is hereby authorized to sign all documents required by the Agreement; and further, that Courtney Hall, Administrator, be and he is hereby authorized to serve as the Certifying Officer to attest to the signature of Randy Roberson as authorized signatory.

The motion carried with the following votes:

YEAS: Wyatt, Bennett, Roberson, Hammons, Pullen, Russell, Wilson, Mayfield, Straughter

Annette Straughter offered a motion, seconded by Nancy Wilson, request Louisiana DOTD to make safety improvements at Intersections of La Highway 818, West Barnett Springs Ave and Fletcher Lane.

Resolution 2019-05

A RESOLUTION TO URGE AND REQUEST THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION AND DEVELOPMENT TO TAKE ACTION TO PROVIDE GREATER SAFETY AND TO MINIMIZE TRAFFIC ACCIDENTS AT THE INTERSECTION OF LOUISIANA HIGHWAY 818, WEST BARNETT SPRINGS AVENUE, AND FLETCHER LANE IN RUSTON, LINCOLN PARISH, LOUISIANA.

WHEREAS, this intersection in Ruston, Lincoln Parish, Louisiana is a dangerous intersection and has been the site of multiple accidents; and

WHEREAS, this intersection is a heavily traveled area; and

WHEREAS, action to provide greater safety to the motoring public at this intersection is needed.

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Lincoln Parish Police Jury does hereby request the Department of Transportation and Development to take action to provide greater safety to the motoring public and to minimize traffic accidents at the intersections of Louisiana Highway 818, West Barnett Springs Avenue, and Fletcher Lane in Ruston, Lincoln Parish, Louisiana by means of additional signing or signaling to enhance motorist awareness to impending danger.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the secretary of the Department of Transportation and Development and the Lincoln Parish Legislative Delegation.

The motion carried with the following votes:

YEAS: Wyatt, Bennett, Roberson, Hammons, Pullen, Russell, Wilson, Mayfield, Straughter

Next on the agenda was to consider a request regarding an Industrial Tax Exemption application from South Alexander Development III, LLC. The project involves construction of a solar energy facility in Simsboro, La. Following discussion, Walter Pullen offered a motion, seconded by Theresa Wyatt, to approve the request for Industrial Tax Exemption from South Alexander Development III, LLC. After discussion, the motion carried with the following votes:

YEAS: Wyatt, Bennett, Roberson, Hammons, Pullen, Russell, Mayfield, Wilson, Straughter

Under Action on Bids, Courtney Hall, Parish Administrator, recommended awarding the low bidder Peck Construction, LLC of Farmerville, La in the amount of \$255,600.00 contingent on state approval. After discussion, Annette Straughter offered a motion, seconded by David Hammons, to award Peck Construction, LLC the bid. The motion carried with the following votes:

YEAS: Wyatt, Bennett, Roberson, Hammons, Pullen, Russell, Wilson, Mayfield, Straughter

Holly Lowry, Parish Treasurer gave a budget to actual comparison report on the General Fund and additional major funds.

Under Board and Commission Appointments, no action was taken.

Theresa Wyatt offered a motion, seconded by Nancy Wilson, to authorize travel to the 2019 NACO Conference, July 12-15 in Las Vegas, NV. The motion carried with the following votes:

YEAS: Wyatt, Bennett, Roberson, Hammons, Pullen, Russell, Wilson, Mayfield, Straughter

After various department reports and there being no other business to come before the Jury, the meeting was adjourned.

Courtney Hall Parish Administrator Randy Roberson Parish President